WebEditor beta

For help with creating games using Quest

Moderators: Pertex, Cryophile, Alex, sgreig

WebEditor beta

Postby Alex » Thu Feb 16, 2012 5:32 pm

I've been working on a web-based editor for Quest, which means you can create games entirely in your web browser - no downloads required.

It's now in private beta, so if you'd like to give it a test run, please email me or reply here. You'll need an account on textadventures.co.uk so let me know which email address you registered with.

Thanks!
Alex
User avatar
Alex
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2048
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: WebEditor beta

Postby Alex » Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:51 pm

Here's a blog post and a preview tour:

http://www.textadventures.co.uk/blog/20 ... r-browser/
User avatar
Alex
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2048
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: WebEditor beta

Postby Pertex » Thu Feb 16, 2012 9:21 pm

Fine, I found the link to create a game. My first impression: I like this blue color and the design of tabs and menus. :D
Where do you want us to post bugs? In the normal Q5-Forum? Here is the first one: If you create a german game, the link to go into a direction shows 'go' so that it says 'go Süden' which does not work
User avatar
Pertex
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 9:52 am
Location: germany

Re: WebEditor beta

Postby Alex » Thu Feb 16, 2012 9:41 pm

Thanks :)

You can post bugs via the usual channels - Issue Tracker preferably!
User avatar
Alex
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2048
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: WebEditor beta

Postby sgreig » Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:36 am

I have to say I really like the web editor so far, and I think it will be incredibly useful for being able to work on projects from different computers (like on a lunch break at work, etc.)

The biggest limitation for me right at the moment, and I know Alex is planning on implementing this soon, is the ability to upload and download the game files for offline editing. I would be more than happy to work on Sleuth with the web editor, but having to go through Alex for the time being to transfer files to and from the server is a bit of a hassle. :D

Once that feature is implemented however, I think the web editor will be my medium of choice for Quest game development. Alex should be commended for his excellent work!
sgreig
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:16 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: WebEditor beta

Postby MerchantToo » Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:51 am

I use dropbox to be able to edit from multiple computers.
MerchantToo
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 8:48 am
Location: Nederland

Re: WebEditor beta

Postby Pertex » Sat Feb 18, 2012 4:17 pm

I try to activate "Show player score" and "Show player health" but I get an internal error. But I think, this features are not supported yet, right?
I am missing a save-button. If an error occurs, all changes are gone.

edit: ahh, I see. All checkboxes throw an internal error.

Changing a value in the game/display-tab and then starting the game leads to internal error.
Wow, now any change brings up an internal error when starting the game. The player says "Error running script: Error compiling expression '': SyntaxError: Unexpected end of fileLine: 1, Column: 1"
User avatar
Pertex
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 9:52 am
Location: germany

Re: WebEditor beta

Postby Alex » Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:20 am

There's no "save" button because all changes are saved automatically as you go along.

I can't reproduce a problem with an internal error after clicking a checkbox. It sounds like maybe you got logged out? I can't see any exceptions in the log.

The game you created gives you an expression error because it has an invalid expression in it. You've added a "SetTimerInterval" command to your start script with a blank timer name.
User avatar
Alex
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2048
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: WebEditor beta

Postby guzmere » Sun Feb 19, 2012 1:50 pm

Hi Alex I'm sorry to compound problems but I too have wrote a few lines and played it to see what it looks like and ever since that it comes up with the same internal error. And I can't do anything with it. :oops:
I have just tried to create another one, just in case I had ticked a wrong box somewhere. But as soon as I created another room it started all over again saying there is an internal error, and won't let me do any thing
On the bright side I love the script options. :D :D :D
User avatar
guzmere
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:40 pm

Re: WebEditor beta

Postby Pertex » Sun Feb 19, 2012 2:55 pm

Alex wrote:There's no "save" button because all changes are saved automatically as you go along.

What does this mean exactly? Will the game be saved after every change I do? Or when I start the game?

OK, I found the problem. Its not a problem with checkboxes. If you add the command "set timer script" and add a new script to it (just a "print a message"), you get the internal error and after it the game in the editor is "dead", you can't change any value/field any more without this error and new loading the game.

And I think there is a problem with timers in the gui even with the offlineversion. If you want to set the timerinterval, the combobox of the timername is not editable, so you can only choose an existing timer. But normally you would create the new timer with a previous command, so the combobox of the timernames should display all timers, even if they are created with script.

Another problem: sometimes the list of scriptcommands behaves strange. See picture
edit: ok, after restarting the webeditor it seems to be ok again
Attachments
script.jpg
script.jpg (20.63 KiB) Viewed 414 times
User avatar
Pertex
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 9:52 am
Location: germany

Re: WebEditor beta

Postby Alex » Sun Feb 19, 2012 5:17 pm

When you get an internal error, can you please send me a screenshot? Also are you able to consistently get the error after following the same steps?

Pertex, the game is saved as you go along. Specifically whenever you click any button, click a checkbox, or move between objects in the tree.

I can reproduce the timer script error, so I'll take a look into that.

The script commands are supposed to display in a JQueryUI Accordion. If they're not, some script probably broke before it was set up. What browser are you using? If you press Ctrl+Shift+I in Chrome you can view the Javascript, so if you could let me know any errors that would be great.
User avatar
Alex
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2048
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: WebEditor beta

Postby Alex » Sun Feb 19, 2012 5:24 pm

Managed to get a repro for the missing accordion so will look into that too.
User avatar
Alex
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2048
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: WebEditor beta

Postby Alex » Sun Feb 19, 2012 5:28 pm

Worked it out - will deploy the update later.

Please please please keep these bug reports coming! It's still early days so there are bound to be these kinds of problems. That's why it's only a closed beta at the moment :)
User avatar
Alex
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2048
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: WebEditor beta

Postby guzmere » Sun Feb 19, 2012 6:22 pm

Hi Alex sorry about this again just a couple of things, it seems when I try to play the game the tree on the left seems to judder from left to right. And after a while it then comes up with an internal error.

(But I have since discovered that if I close I E 9 and then start it up again and re-log in everthing works again )

Also can we post a picture on the game like we could on the downloaded version.

Also on the downloaded version in the tree on the left we could click and drag the player into different locations to try them out, but we can't on the website. Is there another way to achieve this effect.
I admire you for this as by now I would be pulling my hair out.Soz :D :D :D :D
User avatar
guzmere
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:40 pm

Re: WebEditor beta

Postby Alex » Sun Feb 19, 2012 6:53 pm

Missing accordion issue should now be fixed. Also, I found that although I thought I was logging all errors, actually it turns out that the behaviour is different once deployed on the server, so what I thought was a blissfully error-free log was in fact just not showing me any errors :(

That is fixed now so I can see the missing error messages! So hopefully whenever you see an internal error I should now have the info I need.

The tree "juddering" is probably just it reloading, so shouldn't anything to worry about.

Picture/sound upload ability is what I'm working on right now, so that should be available later today.

No way to drag and drop in the tree at the moment. One hacky workaround for now would be to use the game start script to move the player.
User avatar
Alex
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2048
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 11:06 pm
Location: London, UK

Next

Return to Quest Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests