Checking various locations

For help with creating games using Quest

Moderators: Pertex, Cryophile, Alex, sgreig

Checking various locations

Postby guzmere » Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:35 pm

Hi I have recently downloaded Quest to create a new game, I must say I am impressed with it overall. It has sparked memories of G A C which was around at the time of the commodore 64. It's got the old brainbox ticking again. Well done Alex for sticking with this genre. I thought it was a thing of the past until I accidentally came across it. Please could you tell me how I can run an individual location. Example ( if I want to run the fifth location to check for any anomalies have I really got to start from the first location and go through the various levels to get there. Once again Keep up the good work.
User avatar
guzmere
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:40 pm

Re: Checking various locations

Postby Pertex » Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:29 am

You want to jump to a specific loaction? This can be done with

Code: Select all
player.parent=name_of_location
User avatar
Pertex
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 9:52 am
Location: germany

Re: Checking various locations

Postby guzmere » Fri Jan 27, 2012 4:23 pm

Hi many thanks for the reply but I am totally new to this type of programming. I honestly do not know where to place the syntax at the moment, no pun intended. The only way I have managed to get round this problem is to physically place the player in each room that I have to check out and run it from there. I know that it is probably the long way round and once again many thanks. I hope I can get into this type of programming as I will hopefully create a sort of semi decent adventure. Cheers :D
User avatar
guzmere
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:40 pm


Return to Quest Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], HegemonKhan and 0 guests