Quest 5.3 Development

Alex
I've been working on Quest full-time since April 2011 and have been earning hardly any money from it. So, I've taken on some contract development work for the next few months.

This means I'm only able to spend evenings and weekends working on Quest, so the pace of development from my side may be slower than it has been lately.

I've also been sponsored to add some features to Quest 5.3 - features which I think are pretty cool. Most notably, a graphical map, and the ability to switch the "POV" character. I've been implementing these in a separate fork - now that Quest 5.2 is out I'll be merging this into the code on CodePlex. I'll also write some blog posts explaining these features soon.

My priority is to continue working on the sponsored features, and then I'll turn my attention to the other stuff for the Quest 5.3 release (well, before that, I also need to update the wiki docs to reflect 5.2 - could use some help here too!) I've already gone through and pruned the Issue Tracker a bit - currently 35 open items assigned to v5.3 (other items pushed back to 5.4 or 5.5 - not much distinction between the two and priorities will surely change yet again).

So, there's plenty of scope for people who are interested to make contributions! I would of course love it for anybody to pick up any of the items assigned to v5.3, but that's not the be-all and end-all, I'm happy for other features to be implemented too. It may be worth dropping me an email, or posting here, before doing loads of work though.

I think it would be good for the focus of v5.3 to be on features that enhance the look and feel of playing games in Quest. So I would particularly like to focus on these items:

[list]
[*]#857 Tabs and Accordions http://quest.codeplex.com/workitem/857[/*:m]