How to inventory

ATRock
So this is my first time creating a game. I have been a regular gamer doing RPG's, MMO's, Free-Roam, etc... To cut to the chase, I need help on how to put something in your inventory when the game first starts like a weapon, HP restoration, or whatever. Help.

HegemonKhan
the default 'player' Player Object's "inventory" is actually just the default 'player' Player Object itself. When you're putting an Object into the player's inventory, you're merely putting the Object into the default 'player' Player Object:

'player' Player Object
-> 'claymore_sword' Object
-> 'skeleton_key' Object
-> 'healing_potion' Object

-------------

HK
-> pants
->-> wallet
->->-> $1
->->-> $5
-> shirt

you can take a look at this recent post of mine, though it's a bit more advanced (and code heavy), but if you scroll down a bit, I try to explain how the above works in greater/fuller detail:

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=6292&start=15#p42648

-----------------

There's also the 'ScopeInventory()' Function, which specifically returns an Object List Attribute of the names of the Objects in your 'player' Player Object, for usage/manipulation too. But, this is a bit more advanced stuff then to get into for right now.

------------------

'game' Game Object -> 'Scripts' (I think) Tab -> 'start' Script -> run as script -> add new script -> 'objects' (I think) script category -> 'MoveObject()' Script (or whatever it is called/described as, in the GUI~Editor, meh)

(if you're planning to randomly select something, that's much more complicated/complex)

the built-in 'start' Script Attribute of the special 'game' Game Object, runs those added scripts at the beginning of the game.

an example in code:

<game name="xxx">
<attr name="start" type="script">
MoveObject (dagger, player)
</attr>
</game>

<object name="dagger">
</object>

<object name="room">
<object name="player">
</object>
</object>

see also this link, as I think it'll be of help for you: