Require actions before conversation topic appears

ChrisRT
Hi,

I recently downloaded Quest and read the tutorial, and am currently having fun attempting to create my first adventure. I'm hoping for it to be mostly character-driven, with lots of dialogue (branching and otherwise), so I downloaded the ConvLib library to help with that. So far, I've managed to do everything I've needed with it, and it definitely seems useful. :)

One thing I was wondering, though, is whether it's possible to have certain conversation topics only appear on the menu after the player has completed certain actions, or perhaps if they have a certain item, or have fulfilled some other condition. So far, the only condition I can find for topics appearing is if a previous topic has been chosen, which causes a new one to replace it in the menu. (I'd want to do this in the GUI, if possible - I have very little experience with coding, unfortunately. Also, I'm sorry if this has already been posted.)

XanMag
My solution which is VERY GUI heavy (or more accurately code light) is to copy-paste your NPC into a "dead room". Then, add whatever conversation topics you want to that NPC. When your desired event triggers a new topic you want available, move the old NPC out and the new NPC in. Repeat as many times as needed! I know it's a lame solution, but it definitely will work.

A coder will likely come along and give you a more code intensive (and likely simpler) solution. Good luck!

XanMag

The Pixie
XanMag wrote:... When your desired event triggers a new topic you want available, move the old NPC out and the new NPC in. ...

Rather than sawpping the NPCs around, a better way is to move the new topic to the NPC. That way all the old topics are still there, and any attributes that have changed will still be changed.

However, the way I recommend is to run the topic's "show" script. In code it looks like this (for a topic called "new_conv_topic"):
do (new_conv_topic, "show")