Newbie Help Please

lazzah
Hi all,

I am a complete beginner at using Quest and I have a couple of questions, if someone would be kind enough to help me?

I have created the main object in the only location of the game and want to add components of that object. I have added the first, but when I run the game and try to examine it, it says it isn't there. There doesn't seem to be any option to define the sub-object as "part of" the main object, AFAICS. Can someone help please? (I tried clicking on "Object Link" on the right and selecting the main object, but that didn't work)

When the game runs, the "You can see..." list of the visible objects appears BEFORE the location text. Is there any way I can change this so that it appears AFTER or AT THE END OF the location text?

Can anyone point me towards instructions on how you do a game introduction?

Many thanks in anticipation.

HegemonKhan
if you haven't already, there's a tutorial that teaches the basics of using quest's GUI~Editor:

http://docs.textadventures.co.uk/quest/tutorial/

this is really a good place to start, try to do as much of the entire tutorial as you can.

XanMag is trying to create more such tutorials, but they're more for after completing the tutorial in the link above.

Pertex
lazzah wrote:
When the game runs, the "You can see..." list of the visible objects appears BEFORE the location text. Is there any way I can change this so that it appears AFTER or AT THE END OF the location text?

Check the tab "Room descriptions" under "game". THere you find "Room description layout" where you can change the order of the description

lazzah
Pertex wrote:

"lazzah"

Check the tab "Room descriptions" under "game". THere you find "Room description layout" where you can change the order of the description

Thank you Pertex, that is exactly the info I need.

lazzah
HegemonKhan wrote:if you haven't already, there's a tutorial that teaches the basics of using quest's GUI~Editor: