object verb cache has corrupted my "look ats"?

calvatroid
Hi fellow text adventurers,

Recently I did something a bit silly (for what I thought was a good reason at the time):

I added "look at; examine; x" to an objects verb list (a "substance" I wanted the player to realise was blood upon looking at it). Later I realised a better way of achieving what I wanted and so I deleted it.

But since then, whenever I "look at" any object in my game, I get "you cannot look at; examine; x that"!

Is there something I can do about this? I've noticed that "look at; examine; x" is still in what I'd call my verb cache (i.e. it becomes available in the dropdown when I type in "look" as an object verb). Can I remove this cached entry? Have I done something wrong? Or is this a bug?

Just to explain further, it seems to me that my custom "look at; examine; x" entry in the verb cache is sort of over-riding the normal "look at" command (but I'm a noob, if a coder).

I'm using the web editor, by the way, as I'm on a mac.

Loving Quest, really addicted to the whole development process! Many sleepless nights so far, just desperate to do more and more!

Best wishes to all,

XanMag
Not that this would help now exactly, but if you want to achieve what you described... I would just have two different objects. In your initial setting (room description), have an object titled 'substance' and then run a script under the 'look at' box that moves the 'substance' to a different room and the 'blood' to the current room. Unless I'm missing something here, it's far simpler than messing with the built in Quest commands. I use this technique all the time. Just make a dead room (a room with no entrances or exits) with the items you want to move around.

calvatroid