Brand new user here, already stuck.

Redbank3k
Just downloaded the latest version of Quest. When I try to run a game, I'm met with this error message:

"A procedure imported by 'CefSharp.Core.dll' could not be loaded."

This freezes the whole programme. When I try to stop the game, this comes up:

"Object reference not set to an instance of an object."

Followed by:

"System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
at TextAdventures.Quest.PlayerHTML.Reset()
at TextAdventures.Quest.Player.ResetAfterGameFinished()
at TextAdventures.Quest.Main.ctlPlayer_Quit()
at TextAdventures.Quest.Player._Lambda$__27()"

As I say, I'm brand new at this and don't understand any of it. I'm sure this has come up before but I can't find anything about it on the forums. What should I be doing?

Thanks.

Alex
What version of Windows are you using?

You might try reinstalling Quest, as this sounds like a problem that can happen if some of the required files are not installed correctly.

Redbank3k
I'm using XP. I've removed and reinstalled Quest a few times now. The older versions work just fine. It's only the latest release that I'm having a problem with.

I also seem to be missing a few features. I'm following the tutorial and my character "Bob" doesn't have a "Use/Give" tab. Have I completely messed up somewhere?

HegemonKhan
I had the same problem (I think likely due to):

using XP + old browser versions (of IE, and no other browser on computer, lol)

so, I think~guessing roughly, the new 'CefSharp' version you used for quest v560, isn't compatible with either XP and~or old IE~other browser versions, whereas, the older 'CefSharp' version that you used for quest v55X (550 and 551), is compatible.

but, I don't really understand 'CefSharp' and etc stuff... but I think this is generally in the right direction... I hope... of why the error is occuring for us who need to get updated computers+browsers, lol.