Working with Menus

Avamarine
Hello! Another Quest newbie here. I've been poking around, doing my fair share of research on the program and trying to figure everything out. I've actually been doing fairly decently on my own, however I have run into one particular problem... Menus.

I have it so that the game starts out, you can set your name. But when it comes to setting your gender I wanted to use a Menu where you can choose male or female (to prevent people from typing in things like chicken). I looked at the given tutorials for menus and stringlists and such but for some reason it's just not making sense. This isn't the only scenario wherein I will be wanting to use something like this, so if someone could help explain how to create a working menu for choosing something (for instance I plan on adding a store later), I would be immensely grateful.

Also, and I realize that this might be much to ask, but... Tutorials are great, but I learn best by studying other works. For instance when I taught myself Python and C, I learned more by studying available codes from completed, open-source programs. Would anyone be willing to share one of their completed works with me? I have no intentions of copying or anything devious, it's just how my brain works. I fully understand if not however.

I've been having fun with this program though! Looking forward to getting a good idea on how everything works.

HegemonKhan
yah! this is a first, someone who actually is asking me (who wants) code to be given, haha (you're perfect for me and I for you, lol) :D

first, have you already seen this link (guide~help) ?? :

http://docs.textadventures.co.uk/quest/ ... ation.html
(it's a step by step guide)

http://docs.textadventures.co.uk/quest/ ... _menu.html

if you want to see my own struggle (I used, am using, quest to learn to code for my very first time, hehe) with learning quest and coding back 2-3 years when I first found out about quest and joined this site, hehe: