What's the difference between an object and a room?

Billie
Hey I'm trying to figure this software out. I have no programming knowledge. I've tried to work with quest for a while in the past but it became daunting. I started to stick with gamebook creation instead of text adventure creation. It was easier to figure out. I have read the manual a few times but i still didn't have the skills to make the game my own.

I have a few questions that if answered might get me back into trying the software out again.

1. What is the difference between Objects and Rooms

2. How do I make a dialog menu between the player and npc's

3. can the final product be played on a ds? or is it just mobile devices and computers?

thank you for helping a newbie! XD

Billie
also any other tips would be appreciated

OurJud
If you're going to pester these poor folk to the degree I do, Billie, then a 'noob' thread might be a good move, so that you don't end up creating three million different threads as I have.

I too struggle with Quest. Some of it is wonderfully intuitive, but other areas are absolutely mind boggling.

1. Difference between a room and an object? Well, I would say they're the same as they are in real life; Rooms are somewhere you can 'go' while objects can be interacted with. You can 'get' objects, 'use' them, 'examine' them, 'drop' them, 'look' at them.

So, you create 'rooms' to build the layout of your world, then create 'objects' to furnish it.

2. Pass, but I'll be interested to learn.

3. Don't know what a ds is?

jaynabonne
1. Generally speaking, rooms are objects. The difference between generic objects and rooms in the Quest editor is what options you get for the various tabs when you click on a room (inherits from type "editor_room") and an object (inherits from type "editor_object"). If you look at the actual Quest source (the asl code under the covers), you'll see both rooms and objects have the "object" element tag.