Is there a way to skip areas of a game for testing?

iron_freak220
Hi all, I'm very new to Quest and text adventure games in general so I hope this isn't an obvious question. I was wondering though, is there a way to skip through parts of your game that you know are already working when testing?

For example, my game currently has 4 intro pages of text. Now I know that's not a huge hassle in and of itself, but having to go through those 4 pages every time I want to see if I can successfully take out a shirt from a drawer or read a book, etc, starts to add up. And then when I get further into the game development, I will have to go through those 4 intro pages, plus all the other puzzles I've created just to get to where I want to test something small.

Is there a way to just skip all of that? So I could start testing from the room I am currently working on? Or do I have to just rush through the game really quick to test the new areas?

Thank you for your help. I did a search and couldn't find anything relevant but if there is a link with the answer, feel free to post.

george
I don't think there is unfortunately. The closest you'll get is walkthroughs. http://quest5.net/wiki/Walkthroughs

jaynabonne
You have control over the code, so code it that way. :)

If you have your intro paragraphs in a "title" room, where you move the player to the main start room after they have seen the paragraphs, then you can simply have your player start in the start room instead of in the title room. Or basically whatever you do after all the intro stuff, just skip directly to it.

If you could show code for your situation, I could be more specific.

tbritton
On the intro paragraphs you will have to remove them from the game. Do not just comment them out since Quest will remove the text once you use the GUI (I know from personal experience). Copy the intro to notepad.