running out of ink..

bil
hello,
im new to the program, i just downloaded it yesterday.
so far so good,for the most part. i have a basic map laid out and some items/objects to interact with, but!..

today i have spent about two hours trying to get an object (marker) to run out of ink.
i set an attribute for the marker ink to 15 integer. in setup for the object(marker) i set up a print expression : "marker, ink " + marker.ink + " ink."
also in "use object" print: expression : "marker.ink = marker.ink - 1"
now if i use the marker, it says -1 but when i look at the object it still says 15 for the ink integer.

so basically.. how can i set a value and every time i use the object the value will decrease?

sorry if this is a little ruff, im not used to any of these terms or lingo. :?
oh, i also watched the video for the "eggs and flower" and read the wiki quite a few times..but i must be missing something.
thanks
bill.

bil
also.. im not completely helpless. =)

i have made locked doors(turnstiles) unlock-able using tokens.
i have made a small rock object that if you throw it , it hits someone and a vigilante attacks you and ends the game.
with that same rock if you throw it at a group of pigeons they in-turn attack you and rip your face off , ending the game.
or you can use the rock to carve your name into a wall. all using multiple scripts that show text and pictures. so there is hope i guess.

my main obstacle now is quantities/attribute values of an object as stated in the previous post.

im having fun with this.
thanks.

Pertex
in "use object" you print "marker.ink = marker.ink - 1" ? If you use "set variable or attribute" it should work

bil
thanks pertex,

i swore thats what i did.. im going to try again later today to see what i did wrong.

once i get it right it will help with a number of other items as well.

bil
pertex

If you use "set variable or attribute" it should work

sorry , could you explain this? ^

i did this: